Today’s Dinner

For once I went home earlier after work. I had the urge to cook something before I meet cousin for supper after she finished her work.
Baked mushrooms sounds pretty good, so I went to the supermarket beside my house to get some. Unfortunately, the pathetically small supermarket only has enoki and canned button mushroom. So I had to make do with the button mushrooms. =(

I chopped up some garlic, coat the tray with extra virgin olive oil from Greece, dumped in the garlic and mushroom and let it bake for 15 minutes. When it’s done, I chopped up some kalamata olives to top the mushrooms and lastly, drizzle some truffle oil over.

The smell was really appetizing. It tasted good but it would be better if it’s portobello or white mushroom. I realised that it’s not a good idea to add the truffle oil because the mushroom had overpowered the smell of truffle. Next time I will skip the last step.

Having half filled my stomach, I waited for my cousin to get my part II dinner. My mum came along too.
We went to the zi char at Blk 498 Jurong West.

Mum ordered the fried baby squid. It was good! The crispy baby squid was stir fried in chili and sweet soy sauce, then mixed with nuts, onion, cucumber and sesame seeds to add flavor and crunch to it.

I ordered the fried tofu. It’s tofu with seafood paste coated with batter and fried till golden brown. The batter was very light and crispy. I like the lemon mayonnaise with raisins which goes perfectly with the tofu. This is the few tofu that I would eat.

We had another plate of fried bee hoon. The serving was more than enough for the 3 of us and it’s only $3.50! No wonder my mum likes to eat at this zi char stall.

 

Leave a Reply

