Greece Day 3 – Cape Sounion, Plaka

We met up with Nina and the tour group at 2.30pm and set off to Cape Sounion. It’s about an hour’s drive from Athens.
On the way there, we passed by the beaches where the locals love to hang out during summer.

The water was really clear and blue. I wish I could take a dip in it! Not that I know how to swim, but I would love to waddle in the cool sea water~

Such beautiful view. The clear, blue sky and the deep blue sea~ I wish I could stay here~

Nina said that a lot of locals bought these houses with the perfect sea view as their summer homes. That sounds like a plan!
I told Pakcik that next time when I retire, I should also get a house here and relax during summer~
Pakcik then asked when I will retire. I replied, “before I die”. =)

As we were about to reach Cape Sounion, Nikos stopped the bus and let us get off. From there we could see the Temple of Poseidon. Pakcik and I quickly took out our long lens and snapped several photos before returning to the bus.

Soon, we reached the car park of the Cape Sounion. We took a short walk up to the archaeological site.

The Temple of Poseidon was built around the 440 BC.

Both of us loved the view of the Aegean sea. I learnt that the sea was named after King Aegeus who jumped into the sea when he thought that his son Theseus had died. Legend has it: Theseus set sail to Crete to kill the Minotaur. King Aegeus reminded his son to change the sail to a white sail if he returned with victory. But Theseus forgot to change the black sail to white when he returned and King Aegeus committed suicide out of grief.

Cape Sounion is a perfect spot for taking photographs especially sunset. It would be so romantic to see the sun disappear from the horizon with your loved one. Too bad we couldn’t do so because it was only 4+pm and we couldn’t stay till 9+pm for the sun to set.

After seeing the Temple of Zeus, we took the same route back to our hotels.
Pakcik and I rested for a while before going to Plaka to search for a dinner place.

I wanted to try the gryo, which is roasted meat served with tomato, onion, tzatziki sauce and pita bread.

The weather was very good so we at outside. I ordered the Amstel beer to go with the roasted meat.

Bread and olive oil, and sometimes black olives, are served complimentary by the restaurant.

We had the grilled feta cheese (4.80€) to share. The cheese was very dense and rich in flavor.  With just 1 bite, I fell in love with it immediately. So yummy!

We shared the gryos mixed (16€). It has roasted pork and chicken, served with fries, tomato, onions, tzatziki sauce and warm pita bread. The roasted meat was really good. I preferred the pork to the chicken as it has the slightly charred bits which enhanced the flavor. The tzatziki sauce and tomato helped to prevent us from becoming jelat because there was too much meat for the 2 of us. I like the gryos, but it’s a bit too filling. We probably should have ordered the smaller portions.

After dinner, we took a stroll round the area.

Finally the sun set. The shops started to close and we had to head back to the hotel to rest.

Other photos can be viewed from my FB.

Leave a Reply

