Pollen @ Gardens by the Bay

The second day of training was short and ended before lunch time. =)
Lunch was at Pollen in Gardens by the Bay.

We waited at the area in front of the visitor’s centre for the buggy ride to Pollen.

All of us were so excited~ It was a 3-5 minutes ride to the restaurant. I suggest sitting at the back of the buggy because it’s more fun!

After settling down and placing our orders from the lunch set, the breads, olives and spread were served.

That’s my starter: Crab cocktail with avocado, sweet corn sorbet.
The chilled crab was really tasty! I love it so much! Wish I could have more!

That’s my colleague’s Jerusalem artichoke soup with roasted scallop, squid, eggplant puree. It looked good, but I didn’t try it.

Colleague’s Young vegetable salad, dill marinated cauliflower and goats curd. It looked so healthy. Luckily I ordered the crab. =P

Here comes my main: Line caught John Dory, saffron mash with “bouillabaisse”.
The waitress served the fish to me before bringing the fish stew (bouillabaisse) and pour it over. The black thingy on the fish was squid coated in squid ink and tasted good. It’s my first time trying squid ink and I hope I didn’t smile with black teeth. =P
The dory fillet was tender and the mashed potato was so creamy. I know the trick to making creamy mashed potato: add more butter than potato! Anyway, the combination of fish + potato + fish stew was great. I finished every single bit on the plate~

That’s boss’s Braised Welsh lamb shoulder, lamb cutlet, baby gem and baked celeriac. Boss said that the lamb was very tender and delicious.

That’s Wild mushroom risotto with parmesan and wild sorrel.

This passion fruit cheesecake was complimentary from the chef. I like it a lot! The sourish passion fruit neutralizes the creamy cheese, making the dessert light and yummy.

Here’s my dessert: Crispy and burnt lemon meringue with cucumber sorbet. I like the meringue but not a fan of the cucumber sorbet. It tasted like some raw veggie sorbet.

“Japanese green tea”, raspberry sorbet and yoghurt mousse. Colleague said it was good.

That’s “Ocumare cremeux”, pistachio parfait, honey saffron ice cream and toasted brioche. I didn’t try this but my colleagues said it’s good.
I think mine was a wrong choice. =(

Those were complimentary from the chef as well. Think the chef must have loved us. LOL!

The lunch included the entrance fee to the flower dome, so after lunch, we went in to take pictures.
I like the ambience in Pollen and think it would be even better to dine there at night. Service was also fantastic!
Guys, this is a great place to bring your date!

Leave a Reply

