Tim Ho Wan Dim Sum

I have tried the dim sum from Tim Ho Wan during my trip to Hong Kong 3 years ago. I remembered queuing for almost 45 mins to get to eat dim sum for breakfast. Both Pakcik and I agreed that the dim sum was pretty good and worth the queue. We ordered quite a number of items and the cost was only HKD 195. Here’s what we had that time in Hong Kong:

HK Tim Ho Wan

Since Tim Ho Wan opened an outlet in Plaza Singapura recently, and everyone is kinda going crazy over it, I decided to bring my mum and cousin there yesterday to sample the dim sum.

Knowing that the queue will be crazy, we were there just 5 minutes after the opening time. Guess what? The restaurant was already full.
Yep, at 10.05am on a Wednesday, the restaurant was full. The first thing that came to my mind was “Wow, there are so many people who don’t need to work!”
Anyway, to be fair to customers, they only allocate the table when all the people are present. So people can’t send their poor maid or friend to occupy the table in advance.

So here’s what we tried.

Tim ho wan char siew pau

Tim ho wan char siew pau 1

The baked bun with BBQ pork ($4.50++ for 3), aka Char Siew Pau. If you have tried Crystal Jade’s Char Siew Polo Pau, you will know how the bun texture is like. Basically, the bun is soft and flaky, making it hard to not drop crumbs all over. I like the bun even though deep down I know how much oil it contains.
As for the char siew filling, the pork is very tender but I find the sauce too sweet. Might have to wash it down with Chinese tea to neutralise the sweetness.

Tim ho wan carrot cake

The Pan Fried Carrot Cake ($4.50++ for 3) was a let down. The carrot cake, although pan fried, lacked the crispy surface and was way too soft. The texture was like steamed glue. Also, the carrot cake only taste of raw radish. We had to drown it with sweet chilli paste to finish 1.5 piece and abandoned the rest.

Tim ho wan chicken feet

Whenever I have dim sum, the must-eat item for me is chicken feet. The Chicken Feet with Black Bean Sauce ($4++) was acceptable. Nothing special, just eatable.

Tim ho wan har gau

We had 2 baskets of Prawn Dumplings ($5.50++ for 1 basket of 4). Kinda regretted ordering 2 baskets after tasting 1 piece. It wasn’t as fantastic as I expected. I find it lack of seasoning, and couldn’t really taste the prawn’s sweetness. Cousin and mum didn’t like it and I had to finish 5 pieces on my own. =__=”

Tim ho wan lor mai kai

Tim ho wan lor mai kai 1

This is the Glutinous Rice Dumpling ($5++). I find this pretty good. Well seasoned chicken and tasty Chinese sausage. If the rice were so soft, it would be even better. Elderly with weak teeth will not have problem eating this.

We also had the Pork Dumpling with Shrimp ($5++ for 1 basket of 4), aka Siew Mai. I forgot to take picture of that because it was delicious and was gone within minutes. The siew mai has a good mixture of pork and shrimp, plus a piece of very fragrant Chinese mushroom.

Tim ho wan porridge

The Congee with Lean Pork, Century Egg and Salted Egg ($4.20++) was mediocre. I didn’t even realise that there was salted egg in it. Plus, I didn’t really like the lean pork cube in the congee. It tasted like rehydrated dried pork.

Tim ho wan shrimp rice roll

Vermicelli Roll with Shrimp ($5.50++). Mediocre too. They need to improve on the sauce because the one I had in Hong Kong was yummy and the sauce was really rich.

Tim ho wan veg rice roll

Vegetarian Black Pepper Vermicelli Roll ($5++). I can’t comment on this because only Mum ate it. All I could say is, she was struggling to finish it.

That’s all we had for the breakfast. Really disappointing because I had such high hopes for it. Cousin complained of wasting her calories. =(
Anyway, the total bill was slightly over $58.

Here’s my brief comparison between the Tim Ho Wan outlet in Hong Kong and Singapore:

1) Price: Kinda pricey for the quality served in Singapore.
2) Food: Hong Kong’s better.
3) Queuing time: Not much difference during peak hours.
4) Atmosphere: Singapore’s way better, because the outlet I went in Hong Kong was really small and old.
5) Comfort: Seating area is almost as squeezy as the one in Hong Kong.

Anyway, this is just based on my tastebuds and personal preference. Give it a try and decide for yourself.
Here’s the menu for reference:

Tim Ho Wan Menu

Tim Ho Wan Menu 2

2 responses to “Tim Ho Wan Dim Sum

  1. I’ve never even tried dim sum but have been wanting to try it.

Leave a Reply

