Tiong Bahru Market

A couple of weeks ago, Pakcik and I went to Tiong Bahru after work. Initially he wanted to try the Big Mama Korean food, but the next seating was at 9.30pm as we did not make reservation. In the end, we went to Tiong Bahru market to settle our dinner.

Joo Chiat Beef King

Pakcik had the beef kway tiao from Joo Chiat Beef King. It’s all tendon and they are soooooo tender! The tendons are so well braised and they simply melts in the mouth. Soup was clear but so flavorful! Finally I get to taste a decent beef noodles soup in Singapore! Now I don’t have to keep flying to Taiwan to satisfy my cravings~

178 Lor Mee

For myself, I had the 178 Lor Mee with shark meat. Hadn’t ate it for a few years and I think the standard dropped? It wasn’t as good as I remembered. Plus, it was a young chap instead of the old uncle tending the stall that day. Hmmm.. maybe it’s just me being picky…

 

Leave a Reply

