Week 18 Day 5

My body has been changing a lot throughout these 18 weeks of pregnancy. 

Water retention:

Initially, there wasn’t a single day of water retention. But as I slowly survived into second trimester, water retention kicks in. My leg, face and hands swell whenever my water intake is insufficient (according to my preggie body’s standard). Or if I walk/stand a lot, the feet will swell like how the geoduck does, except that my feet do not have the same market value as geoduck. 

Allergies:

I have sinus problem since young. In the first trimester, this allergy hardly surface. But when I reached second trimester, the sinus seems to come back more frequently. Plus I also ended up with dyshidrotic eczema, something which I have never developed before. 

Skin condition:

My face is extremely oily in the first trimester and my skin became super dry. But after week 12, the skin condition gets better. Less oily and more hydrated. I don’t know if it has to do with the hormones or the daily fish oil and vitamins which the gynae asked me to take. 

Skin around the boobs gets thinner as it stretches to accommodate the growing boobs. No, I am not especially proud of the growing boobs because it’s not permanent and will sag if it gets too big. Plus the veins underneath the skin becomes pretty obvious. Tell me, who would like boobs with green veins. 

GI:

This, I have a serious problem. In the first trimester, the GI tract simply went on strike and refuse to digest food. Whole day of burping and retching almost killed me. Now, I can finally eat normally but oily food takes much longer to digest. 

Sleep:

Due to the overactive bladder, I have to wake up in the middle of the night to pee. As the baby gets bigger, the bladder capacity gets smaller, and I have to wake up 2-3 times at night. With these interruptions, I am pretty much sleep deprived everyday. 

Smell:

Oh~ I can now easily sign up to be one of the drug detecting dogs team. LOL~ 

I shall see what other surprises I will get as the weeks go by. 

Here’s this week’s bump photo:

  

Leave a Reply

