Daily Archives: July 21, 2011

Ichiban Sushi

I have been rather busy last week so I wasn’t able to blog. Now that my birthday is over, I have more time to arrange the photos and start updating.

I had dinner with mama & BF at Ichiban Sushi in IMM last week. Mum wanted to treat me but since I wasn’t very hungry in the evening, I told her that sushi would be a good choice. So we went to IMM as I prefer this outlet to the one in Jurong Point.

We were very early, hence the restaurant was still quite empty. I sat beside the conveyor belt. I enjoyed looking at the sushi moving around and I could grab my favorites when they pass by.

I ordered a Salmon Nigiri because it wasn’t on the conveyor belt. The normal color plates are priced at $2.10 now. Sakae Sushi’s are priced at $1.99.

Mum wanted to have some veggie so we ordered the Salmon Sashimi Salad ($6.99) with Japanese sauce.  I liked the sweet sauce. The lettuce was fresh and crunchy. Very ideal to have this as an appetizer.

I had my favorite Unagi Shitake Mushroom Gunkan. Instead of seaweed, Ichiban sushi’s is wrapped in crepe. Sliced red chili padi was added as well. I bit on one slice of the chili and my tongue almost swell. It was spicy! I removed the rest of the chili before I finished off the gunkan.

Love the Fried Salmon Skin ($2.10) from Ichiban. It’s another must-have item for me. It’s very crispy, not oily and absolutely free of scales. No fishy taste as well, so I liked it a lot.

There was supposed to be 3 pieces of Egg Mayo Inari, but BF took away 1 piece before I could take the picture. I didn’t eat this because I was quite full. Mum made BF eat all 3 pieces since he was the one who took it from the conveyor belt. =)

Hana Maki ($5.99). This was the first time I had Hana Maki. I have never ordered this before simply because the amount of mayo on it looked scary. Plus the idea of mayo with raw salmon and rice didn’t appeal to me.
We each had one piece of it. I scrapped off the mayo before eating it like a salmon nigiri.

At first Mum wanted to order the full Cha Soba, but I stopped her. I knew she could not finish so much soba. I ordered the mini Cha Soba for her instead. True enough, she couldn’t even finish this tiny portion.
BF and I finished it for her.  I like cha soba, especially with a bit of wasabi added to it.

BF ordered a Grilled Saba. The fish was grilled till the skin was slightly crispy but the meat still retained the moisture. Even after lemon was squeezed over the fish, Mum didn’t like it because of the mild fishy taste. So BF had to finish it again.

I forgot the name of this dish. It’s sliced pork with onions. The sauce was very savory and the pork was not tender. It would go very well with white rice.

To end the meal, we ordered a Matcha Ice Cream. There’s a bout 1.5 sccop of Matcha ice cream topped with corn flakes, red beans and a cherry on whipped cream. The ice cream was yummy. The matcha taste was strong but it wasn’t powdery. The red bean was not too sweet. I only dislike the corn flakes because I don’t usually eat corn flakes.

Although we didn’t order a lot of food but we were very bloated after the meal. Thanks Mum for the treat~